Skip to Content

This award is presented to a MAC member for outstanding contributions in health sciences librarianship. Please nominate MAC members who have been a member of the health sciences librarian community for ten or fewer years. Although preference for the awards will be given to librarians with five or fewer years of health sciences experience, all new librarian nominees will be considered for the award.

A plaque and a cash award of $250.00 will be awarded to the recipient.

Nominations and self-nominations will be entered into a drawing for a free one-year MAC membership.

Criteria used to determine the recipients of the award include, but are not limited to:

  • leadership in the profession
  • scholarship/publications/research
  • teaching/training/mentoring
  • professional activity
  • service to the health profession
  • development of special projects

You may nominate yourself for this award with a supporting letter from a colleague or supervisor.

Submit a Nomination

MAC Award for Professional Excellence
by a New Health Sciences Librarian
Year Recipient(s)
2016 Alexander Carroll
2015 Katherine Downton
2014 Carolyn Schubert
2013 Melissa Ratajeski