formerly MAC Librarian of the Year Award

This award is presented to a MAC member for outstanding contributions in health sciences librarianship. Nominees are MAC members who have five or more years of health sciences librarianship experience and have more than five years of library experience in general. Solo librarians are also encouraged to apply. You may nominate yourself for this award with a supporting letter from a colleague or supervisor.

A plaque and a cash award of $250.00 will be awarded to the recipient.

Criteria used to determine the recipients of the award include, but are not limited to:

  • leadership in the profession
  • scholarship/publications/research
  • teaching/training/mentoring
  • professional activity
  • service to the health profession
  • development of special projects

MAC Award for Professional Excellence
by a Health Sciences Librarian



2023 Marlena Rose
2022 Stephen Gabrielson
2021 Sarah T. Wright
2020 Emily Mazure
2019 Virginia Carden
2018 Alexandra Gomes
2017 Sarah Cantrell
2016 K. T. Vaughan
2015 Andrea Ketchum
2014 Alexa Mayo
2013 Diana McDuffee
2012 Anna Tatro
2011 Susan Arnold
2010 No award given
2009 Lois Culler
2008 Anne Linton
2007 Julia Shaw-Kokot
2006 Paula Raimondo
2005 Beverly Murphy
2004 Russet Hambrick
2003 Gabe Rios
2002 Ilene Smith
2001 Janice Kelly
2000 Donna Flake
1999 Carol Jenkins
1997 Connie Schardt
1996 M.J. Tooey
1995 Linda Watson
1994 Phyllis Gilikin