This award is presented to a MAC member for outstanding contributions in health sciences librarianship. Please nominate MAC members who have been health sciences librarians for five or fewer years. You may nominate yourself for this award with a supporting letter from a colleague or supervisor.

A plaque and a cash award of $250.00 will be awarded to the recipient.

Criteria used to determine the recipients of the award include, but are not limited to:

  • leadership in the profession
  • scholarship/publications/research
  • teaching/training/mentoring
  • professional activity
  • service to the health profession
  • development of special projects

MAC Award for Professional Excellence
by a New Health Sciences Librarian



2023 Not awarded
2021 Rebekah Miller
2020 Alessia Zanin-Yost
2019 Amanda Haberstroh
2018 Rebecca McCall
2017 Roy Brown
2016 Alexander Carroll
2015 Katherine Downton
2014 Carolyn Schubert
2013 Melissa Ratajeski