MAC Members Among Latest Round of NLM/AAHSL Leadership Fellows

Congratulations to Shannon Jones and Doug Varner, who are among the fellows selected for the NLM/AAHSL Leadership Program.

 Participants in Leadership Fellows Program Announced

The fellows and mentors selected for the 2011-2012 class of the leadership program jointly sponsored by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the Association of Academic Health Sciences Libraries (AAHSL) have been announced. This is the tenth year of the program.

The NLM/AAHSL Leadership Fellows Program prepares emerging leaders for director positions in academic health sciences libraries. Selection is recognition of a substantial record of accomplishment and demonstrable potential. The program provides a combination of in-person and virtual learning experiences for fellows and offers the opportunity to work collaboratively with the class of participants. Fellows are paired with mentors who are academic health sciences library directors and will visit the libraries of their mentors.

Information about the program is available at


Martha F. Earl

Assistant Director

Preston Medical Library

University of Tennessee Graduate School of Medicine, Knoxville

Mentor: Connie Poole

Associate Dean for Information Resources and

Chair, Information and Communication Sciences

School of Medicine Library

Southern Illinois University

Shannon D. Jones

Associate Director, Research and Education

Tompkins-McCaw Library for the Health Sciences

Virginia Commonwealth University Libraries

Mentor: R. Kenny Marone

Director, Cushing/Whitney Medical Library

Associate University Librarian for School and Department Libraries

Yale University

Jennifer McKinnell

Head of Public Services

Health Sciences Library

McMaster University

Mentor: Cynthia Robinson

Director, George T. Harrell Health Sciences Library

Hershey Medical Center

Penn State College of Medicine

Douglas L. Varner

Senior Associate Director/Chief Biomedical Informationist

Dahlgren Memorial Library

Georgetown University Medical Center

Mentor: Evelyn B. Morgen

Director, Lyman Maynard Stowe Library

University of Connecticut Health Center

Jeffrey D. Williams

Assistant Director, Collections, Access & Clinical Services

Biomedical Library

University of California, San Diego

Mentor: A. James Bothmer

Associate Vice President for Health Sciences and

Director, Health Sciences Library

Creighton University

Share this Post