NEXT WEEK: Health Literacy at Your Library on November 13th

Please join us for our SCR CONNECTions next week on Wednesday, November 13th at 8am PT / 9am MT / 10am CT / 11am ET on health literacy programs in public libraries from Leslie Gelders, Literacy Coordinator at the Oklahoma Department of Libraries. See details on the webinar and how to connect below!

Opening Doors to Health Literacy at Your Library Guest Speaker: Leslie Gelders, Literacy Coordinator at the Oklahoma Department of Libraries

Date: Wednesday, November 13th, 2019

Time:   8:00am – 9:00am PT / 9:00am – 10:00am MT / 10:00am – 11:00am CT / 11:00am – 12:00pm ET

Description: Public libraries are in the unique position to provide innovative programs and credible information that enhance the health and wellness of members of their communities. This session will describe exciting programs that can be easily duplicated by libraries of any size.  Learn where to locate health concerns of your state, what libraries might do to address some of those concerns, where to find community partners, and what resources are available to support these efforts.

Hear ideas that have taken place in Oklahoma that have inspired children, teens, families, adults, and seniors to exercise more, eat better, and become active advocates for their own well-being. Libraries that are not providing health wellness programming may be missing wonderful opportunities to address critical needs of the community, collaborate with non-traditional community partners, and think “outside the box” with library programming and resources.

Speaker Information: The Oklahoma Department of Libraries (ODL) is nationally recognized for its support and leadership of statewide literacy efforts. Under the direction of Leslie Gelders, ODL’s Literacy Resource Office collaborates with library and community based literacy programs, state agencies, and other organizations to promote literacy throughout Oklahoma.

Since 2012, ODL has placed a major emphasis on Health Literacy. With Gelders’ assistance, public libraries, local literacy programs, and more than one hundred local partners have initiated innovative efforts to address Oklahoma’s low health rankings. What started as a pilot project of five sites has now grown to thirty-one library and literacy based health and wellness programs throughout the state.

This webinar will be eligible for one hour of Medical Library Association (MLA) Continuing Education credit and will be archived for future viewing.

To Join the Meeting

  1. Go to nih.webex.com(link is external)<https://nih.webex.com/>.
  2. Enter the session number: 294 337 820​ and password: webinar
  3. Please provide your name and email address.
  4. You may have to download and install a web add-on or run a temporary application depending on the browser you use.
  5. Select your audio connection preference:

*Call using computer – Adjust settings and test the connection *Call from WebEx – Enter your direct phone number and press 1 when prompted *Call in – Call: 1-650-479-3208 (US/Canada Toll number) Enter access code: 294 337 820​ # Enter the Attendee ID on your screen and press #

  1. If you are using a mobile device, your access code is: webinar

For more information: https://nnlm.gov/scr/training/connections

Brian D. Leaf
Community Engagement Coordinator
NNLM South Central Region
Gibson D. Lewis Health Science Library
University of North Texas Health Science Center
(817) 735-2169 | Brian.Leaf@unthsc.edu

Share this Post

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.