Call for Nominations for the Marcia C. Noyes Award

Do you know an MLA member with a distinguished career and outstanding contributions advancing the profession? Please consider nominating that individual for the Marcia C. Noyes Award.

The Marcia C. Noyes Award, the association’s highest professional distinction, was established in 1947 in memory of Marcia C. Noyes (1869–1946), one of eight MLA charter members, who made numerous contributions to the advancement of the profession. The award recognizes a career that has resulted in lasting, outstanding contributions to medical librarianship. The award considers sustained and notable achievement in at least one area of activity cited in the mission of the Medical Library Association (MLA) and distinguished service and leadership in health sciences librarianship. The awardee receives an engraved sterling silver bowl at the MLA annual conference.

For the full description of the Noyes Award, required criteria, and how to nominate a colleague, please visit Marcia C. Noyes Award at MLANet.

Nomination forms open on August 18, 2022. The deadline for all nominations, submissions, and supporting documents is October 15, 2022.

Recent award recipients:

  • 2022: Jane Blumenthal, AHIP, FMLA
  • 2021: Beverly Murphy, AHIP, FMLA
  • 2020: Gerald J. Perry, AHIP, FMLA
  • 2019: M.J. Tooey, AHIP, FMLA
  • 2018: Ana D. Cleveland, AHIP, FMLA
  • 2017: Jean P. Shipman, AHIP, FMLA
Share this Post