Help Choose Your MLA Leaders—Call for Nominations for MLA Offices

The MLA Nominating Committee is identifying potential candidates for the fall 2015 election. If you would like to recommend someone to be nominated for president or the board, or would like to be considered yourself, please send current curriculum vitae and a paragraph outlining why the recommended person would be a good candidate to one of the members of the Nominating Committee listed below by May 6th.

The 2015 Nominating Committee members are reviewing the job descriptions for president-elect/president/past president and Board of Directors members and are discussing desired attributes for candidates, as well as the importance of multiple types of diversity in the slate.

You can find the job description for president-elect/president/past president at https://www.mlanet.org/sites/default/files/members/pdf/mla_officer_jobdesc_201002.pdf .

You can find the job description for Board of Directors members at https://www.mlanet.org/sites/default/files/members/pdf/mla_bod_jobdesc_200905.pdf .

Reviewing what is required of people in these positions might help you determine who would be potential candidates.

The process for selecting candidates and electing the MLA president-elect and members of the MLA Board is described on pages 2-4 of the MLA Bylaws, https://www.mlanet.org/sites/default/files/members/pdf/2009_bylaws.pdf  (log in to MLANET to access). The slate will contain at least two candidates for president-elect (president during 2017/18) and at least four candidates for the two vacant Board of Directors positions (2016/17-2018/19 term). The Nominating Committee will meet at MLA ’15 in Austin to finalize the list of candidates.

MLA 2015/2016 Nominating Committee:

Marie Ascher marie_ascher@nymc.edu
Donna Berryman donna_berryman@urmc.rochester.edu
Michael Fitts fitts@uab.edu
Stephanie Fulton, AHIP sfulton@mdanderson.org
Emily Hurst, AHIP hurste@gmail.com
Dixie Jones, AHIP, chair djon17@lsuhsc.edu
Latrina Keith latrina.keith@einstein.yu.edu
Julie Kwan, AHIP jkkwan@library.ucla.edu
Terri Ottosen, AHIP tottosen@hshsl.umaryland.edu
Brandi Tuttle, AHIP brandi.tuttle@duke.edu
This entry was posted in MLA. Bookmark the permalink.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.