REMINDER: Eugene Garfield Research Fellowship Applications Are Due December 1st!

Applications Are Now Open For The Eugene Garfield Research Fellowship!

The Eugene Garfield Research Fellowship promotes and supports research in the discoverability and dissemination of information by incorporating the history of our profession. The fellowship was endowed by Eugene Garfield, AHIP, FMLA (1926-2017), founder and former chair of the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI).

The fellowship recipient or research collaboration group receives a certificate at the Medical Library Association’s annual meeting and a stipend of $5,000 after the annual meeting to be used for research-related purposes regarding the discoverability in information science. The research may incorporate topics such as informatics, expert searching, systematic reviews, critical appraisal, scholarly communication, data science, reference management, or other areas focused on ways to improve discoverability and dissemination of information.

Link for more information:


Applicants must be members of MLA.
Applicants must have a master’s or doctor’s degree or be enrolled in a program leading to such a degree and demonstrate a commitment to the health sciences.
Health sciences librarians and information scientists, health professionals, researchers, educators, and administrators are eligible.
For group research applications, at least one of the group members must qualify according to the above criteria.

Applications are due December 1, 2019, 11:59 p.m. (CDT).

Link to application:

Please forward this email to anyone whom you believe would be interested.

For further information on the Eugene Garfield Research Fellowship please contact any member of the Jury:

Ellen Rothbaum, MS, AHIP
Chair, Eugene Garfield Research Fellowship Jury St. Francis Hospital, The Heart Center(r) Roslyn, New York<>

Lisa M. Acuff, AHIP
Huntsville, Alabama<>

Julia B. DeLuca, MLIS
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Atlanta, Georgia<>

Jovy O’Grady
New York Medical College
Valhalla, New York<>

Cecelia Vetter, MLIS, AHIP
Strauss Health Sciences Library
University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus Aurora, Colorado<>

Maria Lopez
MLA Liaison
Medical Library Association
Chicago, Illinois<>

Share this Post