SCR CONNECTions June 2020 Webinar: POP THE QUESTION

SCR CONNECTions is back! Join us next month on June 10th, 2020 at 8am PT / 9am MT / 10am CT / 11am ET. Porcha Johnson, CEO of Black Girl Health, will be speaking about the POP THE QUESTION initiative to raise awareness of HIV/AIDS among minority women. It’s sure to be a fantastic talk!

Title: POP THE QUESTION

Presenter: Porcha Johnson, CEO of Black Girl Health

Date: Wednesday, June 10th, 2020

Time: 11:00am – 12:00pm CT / 10:00am – 11:00am CT / 9:00am – 10:00am MT / 8:00am – 9:00am PT

Webinar Description: According to CDC, HIV testing has been steadily rising; this supports the promising idea that we are making progress toward the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services goal of reducing new HIV infections by 90% by the year 2030. An important factor in sustaining this trend is raising awareness of the disease and disseminating factual, relatable information to affected people and communities. POP THE QUESTION, an initiative of Black Girl Health, aims to do just that.

POP THE QUESTION has leveraged the power of community, technology, and social media to facilitate its mission to raise awareness of HIV/AIDS among minority women. The campaign aims to help women learn to “pop the question”, or talk to their partners about HIV/AIDS, and educate them about how to include PrEP and PEP into their regular self-care routines. It includes three phases of digital outreach geared toward African American women, including prevention and treatment using National Library of Medicine resources.

Presenter Description: Porcha Johnson has five (5) years’ experience in health advocacy, motivating women to live healthier lifestyles. And thirteen (13) years’ experience as a TV news reporter and anchor. Her strong background in television news helped her connect with women and girls all around the country through Black Girl Health (BGH), a company she founded in 2014. Ms. Johnson’s motivation for starting BGH stems from her personal experience with fibroids and the lack of awareness among women of color about the impact diet and exercise has on reproductive health. The digital outreach organization’s number #1 service is its BGH membership, a sisterhood of women living healthy lifestyles. Members of BGH receive healthy recipes, daily workouts automatically sent to their email, clothing discounts and invitations to our health and wellness events. BGH also creates social media campaigns and video platforms that help companies connect with minority women and promote health awareness about diseases that disproportionately affect women of color such as HIV, Heart Disease, Obesity, Maternal and Mental Health. BGH reaches millions of people through its digital campaigns and helps thousands of women make informed decisions about their health.

In 2019, Porcha expanded the Black Girl Health brand by starting the Black Girl Health Foundation, a non-profit organization that creates pathways to educate, engage, and empower women and girls to reduce health disparities and improve health literacy about the chronic illnesses that affect women of color at higher rates. The foundation connects with women through BGH’s national health expo called “Kickstart”, outreach campaigns and workshops, and through its College Ambassador program.

To Join the Meeting

  • Go to nih.webex.com<http://nih.webex.com/> (link is external).
  • Enter the session number: 625 863 148​ and password: webinar · Please provide your name and email address.

You may have to download and install a web add-on or run a temporary application depending on the browser you use.

Select your audio connection preference:

  • Call using computer – Adjust settings and test the connection · Call from WebEx – Enter your direct phone number and press 1 when prompted ·  Call in – Call: 1-650-479-3208 (US/Canada Toll number) o Enter access code: 625 863 148# o Enter the Attendee ID on your screen and press #

If you are using a mobile device, your access code is: webinar

Did you miss one of our previous webinars? You can find all of them archived here: https://nnlm.gov/scr/professional-development/archived-webinars

Share this Post

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.