Upcoming webinars/classes from NNLM

Hi everyone,
We hope you are all doing well during this very difficult time. As you know, NNLM offers a variety of educational opportunities<https://nnlm.gov/training/classes-by-availability&gt; but I just wanted to highlight a few.

Supporting Open Science in Health Science Libraries: Sharing Strategies for Sustainability and Success
Thursday, April 9 at 8:00 a.m. Hawaii |10:00 a.m. Alaska | 11:00 a.m. PT | 12:00 p.m. MT | 1:00 p.m. CT | 2:00 p.m. ET
Two health sciences librarians will provide an overview of open science services and research in libraries and engage attendees in a discussion of how libraries can build on their support of open science by aligning programs and services with the goals of their research communities and institutions. This session is part of the NNLM Research Data Management (RDM) webinar series is a collaborative, bimonthly series intended to increase awareness of RDM topics and resources.  The series aims to support RDM within the library to better serve librarians and their institutional communities. Register<https://nnlm.gov/class/supporting-open-science-health-science-libraries-sharing-strategies-sustainability-and-success&gt;

Make it Work-Managing Your Solo or Small Hospital Library
Wednesday, April 15th at 10:00 a.m. Hawaii | 12:00 p.m. Alaska | 1:00 p.m. PT | 2:00 p.m. MT | 3:00 p.m. CT | 4:00 p.m. ET
Whether you work by yourself or with a small staff, the nitty-gritty of successfully delivering your services can be challenging. Join two successful solos (Louise McLaughlin and Helen-Ann Brown Epstein) as they discuss the importance of building partnerships throughout their organization, staying visible and valuable, all at the best possible price. Session will be recorded and posted on the PNR Rendezvous webpage<https://nnlm.gov/classes/pnr-rendezvous&gt;.  Register<https://nnlm.gov/class/pnr-rendezvous-make-it-work-managing-your-solo-or-small-hospital-library/21733&gt;

What’s All This Talk About Citizen Science?
Wednesday, April 29th at 10:00 a.m. Hawaii | 12:00 p.m. Alaska | 1:00 p.m. PT | 2:00 p.m. MT | 3:00 p.m. CT | 4:00 p.m. ET
Darlene Cavalier, founder of SciStarter, author of “The Field Guide to Citizen Science” and Principal Investigator (PI) of multiple programs catalyzing citizen science in libraries and around the globe, will guide you as you discover what citizen science is, who is and isn’t engaged, how libraries can be community hubs for citizen science, and where the field may go in the future. Her introduction will be followed by presenters Cheryl Rice and Pete Recksiek, two high school teachers from The Dalles, Oregon, who will share their experience working with students on the SciStarter/NLM citizen science projects. Don’t miss out on a unique opportunity to learn about the buzz surrounding citizen science and how your library can facilitate citizen science in your community! Session will be recorded and posted on the PNR Rendezvous webpage<https://nnlm.gov/classes/pnr-rendezvous&gt;.  Register<https://nnlm.gov/class/pnr-rendezvous-whats-all-talk-about-citizen-science/23459&gt;
In addition, NNLM is partnering with SciStarter regarding citizen science. They have a brief survey<https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSd3HsgzfocejyBXAGs6uQD6QZm4ZjSt9bbN6xt8_GudtuStlQ/viewform&gt; to get a better sense of the levels of interest and commitment from libraries across the country. It’s a short time notice but the survey deadline is March 20.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion: Nine Conversations that Matter to Health Sciences Librarians with Jessica Pettitt
This series continues through August, 2020. Missed past sessions? You can visit the series webpage<https://nnlm.gov/classes/DEI&gt; to access the recordings and still obtain MLA CE. Session documents are also located here as well as on the AAHSL website<https://www.aahsl.org/diversity-equity-inclusion&gt;. Register for the remaining sessions:

*   May 13: I am … Safe Zones: Sticks and Stones LGBTQA 101
*   July 15: I am … Safe Zone: Gender This!
*   August 12: I am … Safe Zone: Messages I Learned

Carolyn Martin, MLS, AHIP | Consumer Health Coordinator
NNLM Pacific Northwest Region
University of Washington Health Sciences Library
Box 357155
Seattle, WA 98195-7155
206-221-3449
martinc4@uw.edu
https://nnlm.gov/pnr

Share this Post

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.