Congratulations to the MAC Diversity Task Group, a recipient of the 2020 MAC Marguerite Abel Service Recognition Award

The Mid-Atlantic Chapter of the Medical Library Association is thrilled to announce the MAC Diversity Task Group as the winner of the Marguerite Abel Service Recognition Award. The recipients are Ene Belleh, Carenado Davis, Brenda Linares, Beverly Murphy, Tony Nguyen, and Carolyn Schubert.

This committee was tasked to investigate ways MAC can promote diversity within the profession of medical librarianship and encourage, develop and promote diversity within the MAC Membership. This task force developed a survey of approximately 25 questions and launched the survey in 2018 giving an overview of the diversity within MAC and gather additional ideas to assist with programming and recruitment within the MAC membership. The work of this task force led to MAC being a recipient of the MLA Chapter Project of the Year in 2019 and include a chapter of this work in the book, Diversity and Inclusion in Libraries: A Call to Action and Strategies for Success (2019). The success of the MAC Diversity Task Group led to the formation of the MAC Diversity and Inclusion Committee and provided insights for MLA with their establishment of a Diversity and Inclusion Task Force.

Thank you all for your contributions to MAC!




Share this Post