Webinar: Research Misconduct: Definitions, Causes, and Response Strategies

Join us next month at 11am ET / 10am CT / 9am MT / 8am PT on September 11th for next month’s SCR CONNECTions webinar!

Melody Herr, PhD, Head of Scholarly Communications at the University of Arkansas will be our expert speaker. Keep reading to find out more!

Research Misconduct: Definitions, Causes, and Response Strategies

Research misconduct, according to the National Academies, costs the nation several hundred million dollars every year.  Yet the most significant cost is the loss of trust in researchers and their work.  Both within the research community and across society, broken trust threatens the advancement of science.

This webinar provides an overview of research misconduct – its definition, causes, and consequences – and empowers you to respond effectively if you suspect, detect, or face pressure to commit misconduct.

This webinar is for you.

Everyone who supports or participates in research shares responsibility for promoting integrity and addressing misconduct.  This webinar targets library and information science (LIS) professionals and research administrators, but anyone involved in research is welcome to attend.

You do not need any prior knowledge or experience.
You will gain a basic understanding of misconduct.

*         Definitions

*         Causes

*         Means of detection

And you will learn strategies for responding to misconduct.

*         Gathering facts and asking questions

*         Engaging in conversation

*         Submitting allegations

Prepare to be an agent of integrity.
An awareness of research misconduct will make you more attentive in your day-to-day work and more empathetic toward researchers in a stressful, competitive environment. At the same time, knowing effective strategies for responding to misconduct will empower you to become an agent of integrity.

Meet the speaker.
Melody Herr, PhD, is the Head of the Office of Scholarly Communications at the University of Arkansas.  She has a joint appointment with the University Libraries and the Office of Research and Innovation.

To join the meeting

1.       Go to https://nih.webex.com/

2.       Enter the session number: 623 048 374 and password: webinar

3.       Please provide your name and email address.

4.       You may have to download and install a web add-on or run a temporary application depending on the browser you use.

5.       Select your audio connection preference:
*Call using computer – Adjust settings and test the connection *Call from WebEx – Enter your direct phone number and press 1 when prompted *Call in – Call: 1-650-479-3208 (US/Canada toll number) Enter access code: 623 048 374 # then enter the Attendee ID on your screen and press #

6.       If you are using a mobile device, your access code is: webinar

Share this Post

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.